This article will explain the billing logic for the team and Enterprise accounts.
When you create a team account, you get a 30-day trial for as many users as needed. You won't need to pay anything during that period. The subscription cycle for the team is set to yearly by default. You can change it to monthly while adding your payment method.
An admin needs to attach a payment method to the team at any time during the trial for uninterrupted usage of the service. You will be charged automatically at the moment when the trial ends. You will pay for the number of seats present in the team at that moment.
Note: You pay for the number of seats present in the team no matter if a user is assigned to it or not.
If you have selected the monthly plan while attaching the payment method, you can always upgrade to the annual plan from the team dashboard.
- If you are still in the trial period, you won't be charged at the moment of upgrading to the annual plan.
- If you are on the paid period, you will be charged and your annual subscription will start at that moment. The unused amount you already paid for the monthly period will be subtracted from the due payment.
You can change the number of seats in your team at any time during the trial or the paid subscription.
The Krisp subscriptions are prepaid and have specific next billing dates. Whenever you add a new seat to your team, the amount you pay for it is calculated based on the period left till the next billing date.
Let's look at an example with mock prices to make this clearer.
You have a monthly team subscription with 2 seats. Each seat costs $12 USD/month. You pay $24 USD at the beginning of the billing cycle. On the 10th day of the cycle, you decide to add 1 more seat. The full amount for it would have been $12 USD. However, as you won't use that one seat for a whole month but for 20 days. So you will pay $12 USD/30 days * 20 days. That would make $8 USD.
When the next billing cycle starts, you will pay the full amount for that seat along with your other seats. The payment will be done with a single invoice.
If you remove a seat any time during the billing cycle, the seat count will be changed at that moment. However, the price re-calculation will be done for the next billing cycle.
This means that the removed seats are not refundable. If you remove the seat by mistake and decide to add it back, you will be charged for it at that moment.